Skip to content

Stonecutter

February 9, 2016

 

Finished Stonecutter

 

After a year and some months, the beast is finished.

I learned more than I care to admit with this sweater, one thing being a bias bind off. Instead of the stair step shape you normally get when binding off (left shoulder below) you get a smooth one (right shoulder) and it makes the seaming process so much easier. Oh how I wish I knew of this sooner!

 

Back

 

I also got over my fear of straying from patterns. I’m really picky when it comes to necklines and knew right off the bat the back had to be dropped. Straight ones from the HPS are just not done. The weight of the sweater would have pulled the neck down a little but not enough for my comfort.

I opted for M1L and M1R instead of YOs for the side cable increases. Personal preference really, the hole-y look just didn’t go with the rest of the sweater. If you decide to do this, make sure you’re working the M1Ls on the right side and M1Rs on the left or you’ll get framing along the cable. Thanks to Radiolazy’s notes on Ravelry, this was caught early-ish and only done on the back. I decided to live with the mistakes (for once!) and corrected myself on the front.

(See how smooth that armhole below is? BIAS BO!)

Front

 

Ugh, I love this sweater so much. It’s helped me through some tough times and is one of those projects that’ll always hold a special place in my heart. I’m sure I’ll cry at least once every time I wear it.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie Canavan permalink
    February 9, 2016 5:15 pm

    Seriously. Beautiful.

  2. February 10, 2016 1:33 pm

    Wowwwwww, this turned out stunning! It’s really, really good! I need to look up this bias bind-off situation… I was just noticing today how particularly gross the bind-off was on my Cascades sweater.

  3. February 12, 2016 6:03 am

    It’s beautiful!!!!!!!!

  4. Katherine permalink
    February 17, 2016 8:32 am

    Beautifully done. I’ll have to try that bias BO.

  5. February 22, 2016 4:04 pm

    Soooooo incredible!! I love projects that mean an extra special something, especially when they also look amazing.

  6. April 9, 2016 4:52 pm

    Thanks for any other informative blog. Where else may just I get that kindnof information written in such a Click http://getl.eu/?i=justgoo100745

Leave a comment