Skip to content

Rambley

August 11, 2011

This post will be really rambley and unorganized because it’s one of those days and I’m in one of those moods.

I cast on Beatnik again. Twisted rib sucks. My wrists are killing me. I was fancy and added a selvage. I could’ve done it in the round but I want to make sure I know how to seam a knitted garment properly.

Photo on 2011-08-11 at 20.12

I got striped overalls. They make me really happy.

Piggin' Out on Whoopie Pies

I got my calf tattooed today (now that my left leg below the knee is completely tattooed, do I tell people I have a leg warmer? *covered arms = sleeves* ) and as usual I pigged out after. Two whoopie pies.

I have a fever right now. Seems to be the norm for me after tattoo sessions. Ugh.

This might be TMI but having to clean out the holes in my gums left from the wisdom teeth is a PITA.

It’s awesome and a major ego-boost knowing people read my blog (*NEVER* thought I’d get more than a few hits or that I’d last this long), but then I feel immense pressure to be interesting.  I feel even more pressure when people I know in real life read my blog (Hi Marcus, Melissa, Andres, and Jessie AKA White Noise) and they tell me. And then I get a little embarrassed. Bloggers, am I alone in this?

I think that’s all.

Organized and non-rambley posts will be back soon.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 10:15 pm

    you are not alone in feeling embarrassed! i don’t tell anyone i have a blog that i know in real life. only my sis and husband know (that i know of at least!). if someone finds out about it, then oh well. i never post things on there that i wouldn’t want someone to know about anyway. and i like the term leg warmer. i’ve been thinking i’d like to get from the knee down tattooed one day but i’m such a baby. to start, i want to get my wedding bouquet and then fill in things later on. i have the design for the bouquet drawn up and ready to go. i just don’t have the balls to make that appointment!

  2. August 12, 2011 1:45 am

    You are not alone! I hardly tell anyone I know in real life about my blog. The ones who know are fellow bloggers or are people my mum has told.

    • August 15, 2011 1:47 am

      When my Mom tells people I have a blog she makes it seem like I write for a major newspaper or something. I bet they’re almost always let down when they see pictures of a french bulldog!

  3. August 12, 2011 1:50 pm

    I do not tell anyone either, only a select few know, i read all of your posts even though i do not always comment i have 100’s of blogs in my reader and i have a folder for my fave’s that i read all posts on and yours is in that folder, so you must be doing something right!

    • August 15, 2011 1:28 am

      I guess so! Thank you so much, Naomi 🙂 I feel special!!!

  4. eddunsmore permalink
    August 12, 2011 2:30 pm

    I don’t have a blog, but I just love reading yours! You can always bring a smile to my face. Enjoy your photos, and love Lily’s blog. Your knitting, crochet and crafting are always awesome. Have a great weekend.

    • August 15, 2011 1:28 am

      You’re always so sweet Cathy! Many thanks (from Lily too!).

  5. August 12, 2011 3:10 pm

    I absolutely LOVE reading your blog and seeing your photos. The lovely Lily makes me smile every time I see her face. Her blog is so HER! Don’t ever stop, either one of you!

    • August 15, 2011 1:29 am

      I guess I can’t now 😉 Thank you very much Sharlene!

  6. August 13, 2011 7:36 am

    oh gosh. i get embarrassed too. i wish i could keep the two separate. & it’s not like i tell the blog-world all my secrets or anything. i suppose my real life peeps know me better, but it’s just odd i guess. & then i tell people things that i read on your blog lets say and i sound like i know you in person. then they ask like “oh cool have you met her dog?”…and i just sit there with this blank face realizing that they have no idea i’m talking about the inter-blog-world. whoops. i don’t know if that made sense……hm.

    oh. i am so happy i don’t have wisdom teeth. yay.

    good luck seaming. & i think i have a blue & white (train conductor looking) overalls in my closet somewhere…from high school. hah.

    • August 15, 2011 1:36 am

      Totally made sense…I DO THAT TOO! Lucky you about the wisdom teeth, and thanks for the luck, I think I’ll need it. PS: striped overalls are so badass.

  7. August 14, 2011 7:12 pm

    Ditto. Select few. I just started my blog, so I feel like a COMPLETE dork right now when (and if) I tell people I have a blog. Blogging makes me feel good, so it’s funny I’m so shy about it, but I love it when strangers (new friends?) read it.

    Oh yes, my bulldog Blossom wants to play with Lily. I think she’s a bit jealous, though, that Lily has her own blog. Now she wants one, too. Diva bulldogs. Nice.

    • August 15, 2011 1:40 am

      Aw man, I checked out your blog and saw that you studied journalism…EVEN MORE PRESSURE. 😉 I’m sure Lily would love to play with Blossom, she thinks she’s just as big! EMBRACE THE DORKINESS!

  8. August 14, 2011 7:16 pm

    I decided to own my blog, straight up. I just act way more casual than I feel when people bring it up, like “yep, blog, whatevskies”.

    I also got tattooed today! Twins.

    • August 15, 2011 1:45 am

      Nonchalance. I like it! Will try it next time. And yay new tattoos! 😀

  9. corneliuslives permalink
    August 15, 2011 8:16 pm

    I too feel awkward, for sure, when friends bring up my blog in conversation. I would agree with “embarrassed” being the appropriate emotion. Additionally, I almost always have the reflex of checking my surroundings to see who might be laughing at me for being called out as a blogger out from behind the safety of my computer and/or home. However I also can’t help but appreciate positive feedback over something so completely self gratuitous and silly that I devote way too much time to maintaining. Kudos on the new ink!

  10. September 12, 2011 7:54 pm

    My boss told me he follows my blog… awk-ward…. Eventually you get over it and get back in the groove of things. I suppose it’s like a singer on stage and your mom shows up for a concert, and you see her in the crowd.

Leave a comment