Skip to content

Forever Alone Socks

July 4, 2015

These are the “Boyfriend Socks” by Alice Bell. I used Madeline Tosh Sock but I’m starting to fall out of love with this yarn–not enough give and way, way too splitty.

Untitled

Untitled

I’d never done a short-row heel before this but it’s my new heel of choice. So much easier to work on one circular needle than a gusset and flap! If you have a high-instep it might not be comfortable though. I left more stitches between the wraps (16 instead of the suggested 12) for a wider and shorter heel.

Untitled

The pattern called for 1×1 rib but I opted for 2X2 (k2tog/ssk the extra purl stitches) and a tubular bind off. It’s more time consuming but I think it’s the prettiest option with the most stretch.

DAT BIND OFF

I’m really pleased with how they turned out but I don’t think anything will ever top my happy socks.

Untitled

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2015 4:41 pm

    I can’t get over how pretty these are!!

Leave a Reply

