Skip to content

Lily Cowl

May 20, 2015

Lily Cowl

I can finally show off the cowl I made for Andi! For the first round of this swap, Andi and Katie both sent original designs. I… did not.

I didn’t want that to happen again so I dug up all my mother’s knitting books and flipped through until I found a stitch pattern that felt right. It took a hot second to make sure everything worked together but I’m so, so pleased with how this turned out.

It’s obviously nowhere near as complex as the things they make but it’s still something, right?

The pattern can be viewed and downloaded on Ravelry here . OH YEAH AND IT’S FREE.

Happy knitting!

Lily Cowl

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2015 11:23 am

    This cowl is perfect. Thank you for sharing it here!

  2. May 20, 2015 7:39 pm

    Wow I love the stitch pattern! Super beautiful cowl.

  3. May 22, 2015 4:40 pm

    I love the way this turned out! That lace pattern is amazing, and I’m so glad you wrote up the pattern. So this time, I’m the only one who didn’t do an original design! Ack!

  4. May 29, 2015 11:47 am

    Pretty!!!

  5. Pam Burrows permalink
    October 4, 2015 7:32 am

    Perhaps I am the only one who cannot figure out how to do the “K1 under 4 strands of dropped YOs” but can anyone help me. I have not been able to make mine look like the picture above. The rest has been a challenge and I got this far and seem to have hit a brick wall. I love the pattern and don’t want to give up now!!!

    • October 4, 2015 8:47 am

      Hi Pam!

      I’ll do my best to explain. So pretty much you’re going to stick the tip of your right needle underneath the four strands of dropped yo’s, wrap the working yarn on the right needle as you normally would for a knit stitch, and pull that through the four strands. When you’re finished, it should look like four strands resting on one knit stitch.

      It’s sort of like knitting into a yarn over, but this time four with a lot of slack!

      Let me know if this helps or made things ten times worse! 🙂

      >

      • Pam Burrows permalink
        October 5, 2015 3:23 pm

        Hi Iz,

        I FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT!!! Thanks again for your help. When I knitted the 4 YOs as a stitch everything fell into place. I look forward to moving on from here. Hopefully I will be able to finish this beautiful project and it will be as beautiful as the one you show on the pattern!

        Regards,

        Pam

Leave a Reply

