Skip to content

Sweater of Ultimate Sadness

March 9, 2015

I don’t even know where to start with this thing. There are so many issues with the fit that if this were a sewn garment, I would’ve already ripped it apart and started a brand new pattern.

That’s probably what I’ll end up doing. Instead of making the body one piece that folds over at the edges to make the armholes, I’ll create separate front and back pieces. The neck definitely needs to be dipped on the body and the collar shaping, holy crap, the damn collar shaping. I can’t tell if the designer meant for the edge of the body to sit across the shoulders (first photo below) or lower across the back (second photo). The shaping forces it to sit lower but the model photos show it worn higher. Either way, there’s tons of bubbling and excess fabric where there shouldn’t be.

I loved the idea of this garment but the pattern execution was just terrible.

As for Loft, it’s okay. I love the color options but prefer yarn that has more weight to it. The darker color broke more often than the lighter colors and was also less consistent in width. I didn’t have a great time knitting with it but I was expecting far worse after some of the reviews I read.

Mannnnn, I set myself up for disappointment, didn’t I?

Escher

Neck Awfulness

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kat @ House of Lane permalink
    March 9, 2015 4:22 pm

    That sucks! It had such potential. Bummer that the pattern let you down. I hope you are ble to re knit it better. I love the geometric, monotone look. I think it could be a real winner!

  2. March 10, 2015 10:20 am

    Oh no! The pattern looks so lovely at first glance, I was very excited to see your finished project. It cuts deep when a project of this size doesn’t turn out.

  3. March 11, 2015 9:43 am

    Bummer! I’ve had projects like this where everything seems wrong from the start but I just HAVE to finish it, even if everything is still wrong. Uhg. I feel your pain. If it’s any consolation, the general shape and the color scheme WILL look amazing on you if you decide to re-work it.

Leave a Reply

