Skip to content

Well, That Was Fun

September 29, 2014

I drafted a post about my trip a few days after I landed at LAX but it went unpublished because I was still processing it all. Things happened at such a fast pace (Rome in a day. A DAY.) it was hard to be present. Sort of felt like everything was happening to someone else and I was an observer.

When I got back, I couldn’t answer the million questions thrown at me by friends and family.  I didn’t even know where to start.

The hike, AKA the craziest, stupidest, most dangerous thing I’ve ever done? The one where numerous people (locals, fellow travelers, MOUNTAINEERS) said it was too early in the season to do because the snow was extra low?

The time I went wandering around Paris with my friend and a group of guys tried tying our hands together?

How about with something not-so-terrifying, like the part where I climbed an active volcano?

Three months later and I’m still spitting out stories triggered by something random. Just last week I was eating a donut with nutella and it took me back to Chamonix where every morning I’d eat it with bread because I wanted my last meal to be something I loved in case anything happened to me on the hike.

I don’t think this trip changed me in a dramatic “I’ve found myself” way but it’s definitely made me more adventurous and appreciative of the things, people, and places around me.

Aaanyway. Here are some pictures which, if you follow me on instagram, you’ve probably already seen.

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

Cyber high-five if you get the reference.

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

This bookstore keeps books on boats for when the water rises.

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

It was a great trip, one I don’t regret in the least bit, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss these two clowns.

photo.JPG

I started another Iz cowl at LAX the day I left and finished it a few days ago. So glad I brought a project! It kept me entertained during those long commutes and distracted me from the suck. The reactions from strangers were pretty great too–lots of stares, laughs, and smiles. And!!! I now I have a super special cowl that’s been knit in four different countries.

Completely forgot how much I love knitting (blasphemy!). I’ve already cast on another project.

Hope those of you that stuck around are doing well!

-Iz

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2014 5:33 am

    Ohhhhhhhhh dammmmnnnn so beautiful! I wish you’d say more about it all 🙂 I was dying of envy every time you posted something on Instagram while you were away.

  2. September 30, 2014 8:04 am

    That looks so wonderful! Really inspiring me to take off and go, your pictures are stunning. Excited for future entries (on your trip and anything else, you’re one of my favorite bloggers!)

  3. September 30, 2014 11:54 am

    It makes me so happy every time you knit another Iz cowl!

  4. October 1, 2014 12:54 am

    Ahhhhh, you are so rad!! Let’s get together soon!!

  5. October 1, 2014 6:33 am

    Damn, these look like some badass adventures, seriously. I’ll have to show Rob because he’s super into the idea of finding the “real” side of places he visits through hiking.

  6. October 1, 2014 1:18 pm

    I just can’t even …

  7. October 2, 2014 3:59 am

    Just WOW. Your photography is brilliant. I just bought a new camera and I am needing to learn learn learn. What camera do you use? Sorry if you have already answered this elsewhere. Happy travels. Millie.

Leave a Reply

