Skip to content

I Got My Other Armpit Tattooed

July 6, 2012

I spent Monday afternoon at Port City Tattoo. Eric Jones, the guy who’s done all but three of the tattoos on me, relocated here after a brief stint in Italy and Sweden.

photo.JPG

  I can’t pretend this one didn’t suck. When the shading started I kept getting this strange feeling in my left leg that made me want to flex it. That lead to a lot of different poses and at one point I even had my legs crossed. It was, hands down, the most painful tattoo. I was actually surprised at how bad it was because I remember thinking, “That wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be” when he did my other pit.

photo.JPG

  I didn’t have anyone with me so for the first hour and a half I was staring at the ceiling. The last half hour I pulled out my phone and browsed instagram and twitter. The distraction made a hell of a difference but I felt kind of rude. (Do you guys bring something or someone to distract you while getting tattooed?)

photo.JPG

Port city!

It’s still swollen (feels like a roll of coins is shoved in my pit when I put my arm down) but other than that it’s lookin’ good.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 5:19 pm

    Your tattoo looks AMAZING! In fact, I love all of your tattoos so much. As a whole I think you have the most beautiful pieces I’ve ever seen. Eric is clearly as good as they come! Sux that it hurt so much, but the results make it worth it. Just curious, how painful would you say chest pieces are? I understand you are tattooed in all the most painful spots (arm pits, feet, ribs (?), chest, knees) and wondered how you would describe the pain level?

    • July 7, 2012 2:45 pm

      Thank you! My crown was done in multiple sessions (first was outline and shading, second was color). Pain-wise I think it was on the same level as my shins and feet. Not as bad as my back or left pit (wolf). I don’t have my ribs done yet (waiting for that six pack haha ;)) and my knees will be probably be next after I get Hugo’s portrait on my other wrist :)

  2. July 6, 2012 6:36 pm

    That is gorgeous! He is freakin’ talented. But all I could think when I was reading your post is, “ouch!” Ha.

  3. July 6, 2012 7:13 pm

    dude that looks amazing! and good god that looks like it kills because it’s so ticklish. at least for me.

    • July 7, 2012 2:37 pm

      I’ve heard people say some areas are ticklish when they’re getting tattooed but I’ve never experienced that.

      • Cody King permalink
        April 17, 2014 2:38 am

        When i got my chest my piece done, for myself the area around my nipples was some sort of ticklish sensation, but I wasn’t laughing lol.

  4. July 6, 2012 11:16 pm

    Fantastic piece!

  5. July 7, 2012 8:32 am

    OMG I LOVE IT! I’ve been considering a wolf tattoo actually, as well as an armpit tattoo (honestly because I kind of want to see how much it hurts/what it feels like). It came out so well, congrats!

    • July 7, 2012 2:40 pm

      Thanks! Go for it. You’ll have to keep your arm up for a few days though. The first time around I didn’t and I had some issues with the tattoo in and around the crease.

      • July 16, 2012 7:29 am

        If you don’t mind me asking, what’s the deal with deodorant during healing? I assume you couldn’t use any of the stronger stuff because it might damage the color?

  6. July 7, 2012 7:02 pm

    Ow ow owwwwoooooooo! (wolf sound)

  7. July 10, 2012 10:55 am

    It looks amazing!! Now when you wave, the wolf waves too. :D

    • July 10, 2012 11:01 pm

      And who doesn’t like a friendly wolf, right?

  8. July 24, 2012 11:02 am

    looks amazing. yet, i would quite possibly punch someone if they came close to my armpit; i’m that ticklish. awesome work though.

    • July 24, 2012 6:45 pm

      Note to self: Never go near Ana’s pit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

