Skip to content

Love Socks

May 8, 2011

Love Socks

Love Socks

Love Socks

Pattern: Love Socks

Needles: US 2

Yarn: Berroco Comfort Sock (Grey) + Sensations Bamboo & Ewe (Red)

Start/Finish: 4.14.11/5.8.11

Notes/Mods:

-Heel turn instructions are incorrect–worked it up twice before realizing this. I googled “how to turn a sock heel knitting” and got generic instructions. Instead of using PSSO I did SSK.

-Obviously I chose not to do the stripes

-Used these intarsia instructions from The Purl Bee

-Used Ysolda’s tubular cast on tut 

-I only had one skein of the BCS yarn and wasn’t sure how much I would need (cons of cuff down) so chose to make these socks really short. (it’s a good thing I did, I have enough of it for another pair!)

-8 rows of 1X1 rib. I wanted to do 2X2 but it looked weird with the tubular cast on.

-20 rows after cuff before I started chart.

I finished the first sock in about two days but it took me a while to start the second. It wasn’t second sock syndrome (SSS)… more like wtf-yarn-tails-wont-stop-sticking-to-fresh-tattoo (WTFYTWSSFT).

Happy Sunday! Hope everyone had a good weekend. I sure did!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 11:22 pm

    At first I was like “Yay, grey socks!”, and then I saw the back too! They’re perfect!

  2. May 9, 2011 8:32 am

    Those are the best socks I have ever seen.

  3. May 9, 2011 11:43 pm

    Very cute!

  4. May 11, 2011 4:31 am

    I like how these turned out. I might want a pair for my birk clogs. :)

    I found you through this Knithacker post.

  5. May 16, 2011 2:40 am

    what! did you hand knit these? epic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

